Neues Flower-Kings-Album „Islands“ erscheint am 30. Oktober

Bereits ein Jahr nach ihrem Comeback-Album „Waiting for Miracles“ erscheint am 30. Oktober 2020 das neue (Doppel-) Album „Islands“ der schwedischen Retroprogger The Flower Kings. Das Album erscheint kurioserweise wegen der Covid-19-Pandemie früher als geplant. Roine Stolt meint dazu:

“All shows and festivals were cancelled and the future didn’t really ‘unfold’ itself like we had hoped. To sit out the pandemic with no activities was not an option for us! We can’t be stopped by an evil virus! So, with members living in the USA, Italy, Austria and Sweden, the only way to realize this album, was to use the magic of the ‘net’, sending files around the globe and start building what now has become a mammoth-sized double album of 21 songs.”

Das 92-minütige Epos erscheint mit einem Artwork des legendären Roger Dean. Die Fans dürfen mit allen Flower-Kings-typischen Sounds und Melodien rechnen, für die die Band bekannt ist. Von Vintage-Keyboards bis hin zu epischen Gitarrensoli, von krummen Takten bis hin zu symphonischen Elementen: The Flower Kings bleiben ihrem Stil treu.

“The theme of the album is isolation – so the title ‘Islands’ felt like a most relevant title – as much of it circulates around isolation, loss, and the fear of being disconnected. Having to face this unexpected pandemic will leave marks on each one of us for a very long time and to lose loved ones forces us to soldier on, learning and growing a stronger version of ourselves in this fragile cycle of life.
Musically; the aim has been to create a bigger grand epic piece out of 21 songs – so they are all connected with themes that weave in and out – like the way ‘Sgt Peppers’ or ‘The Lamb’ were built on shorter songs, but yet linked. So view it as one mega song or as 21 separate pieces, it is all tailored to be listened to as one piece – like a cinematic 90min long ride.”

The Flower Kings - Islands

Die Tracklist:

Disc One (49:40)

  1. Racing With Blinders On 4:24
  2. From The Ground 4.02
  3. Black Swan 5:53
  4. Morning News 4:01
  5. Broken 6:38
  6. Goodbye Outrage 2:19
  7. Journeyman 1:43
  8. Tangerine 3:51
  9. Solaris 9:10
  10. Heart Of The Valley 4:18
  11. Man In A Two Peace Suit 3:21

Disc Two (43:01)

  1. All I Need Is Love 5:48
  2. A New Species 5:45
  3. Northern Lights 5:43
  4. Hidden Angles 0:50
  5. Serpentine 3:52
  6. Looking For Answers 4:30
  7. Telescope 4:41
  8. Fool’s Gold 3:11
  9. Between Hope & Fear 4:29
  10. Islands 4:12

„Islands“ erscheint als 3LP-&-2CD-Box, als Limited Edition im 2CD-Digipak und als digitales Album.


Roine Stolt – Vocal, Ukulele, Guitars, Additional Keyboards
Hasse Fröberg – Vocal & Acoustic Guitar
Jonas Reingold – Bass, Acoustic Guitar
Zach Kamins – Pianos, Organ, Synthesizers, Mellotron, Orchestrations
Mirko DeMaio – Drums, Percussion
Guest: Rob Townsend – Soprano Saxophone